Changes at the top of the public sector

With little fanfare or speculation, Premier Will Hodgman has announced some significant leadership changes to the senior ranks of the public sector, most significantly former Treasury Deputy Secretary, Kathrine Morgan-Wicks has been appointed Secretary of Health.

Given the health budget grows like topsy, it looks like Ms Morgan-Wicks appointment is an attempt to rein in ballooning health spending.

Ms Morgan-Wicks is currently the Secretary of Justice and she will be replaced by the Secretary of Communities Tasmania, Ms Ginna Webster who will in turn be replaced by Health Secretary, Michael Pervan.

Ms Morgan-Wicks has successfully led a range of policy and law reform projects as Secretary of Justice, notably the Tasmanian Government’s involvement in and response to the Royal Commission into Institutional Reponses to Child Sexual Abuse.

Having previously overseen reforms to Tasmania’s child protection and public housing systems, Mr Pervan will lead the $125 million Stage Two of the Affordable Housing Action Plan.

Ms Webster will return to lead the Department of Justice where she has previously made substantial contributions over 15 years including senior management roles as Deputy Secretary, Administration of Justice and Director, Community Corrections.

The new appointments will take effect from Monday, 2 September 2019.

Register Now for Font Training