Morrison’s Ministry sworn in

Share On: Share on Facebook Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Twiiter Share on Linkedin Share on Linkedin

By Partner Brad Stansfield

Following their unexpected election win, yesterday the re-elected Morrison Government’s Ministry was officially sworn in.

While the result in Bass is yet to be officially declared, it appears the Liberals have won Braddon and Bass from Labor with swings of over five per cent; Labor has retained Lyons and Franklin; and Andrew Wilkie was comfortably re-elected in Clark.

The new member for Braddon is Gavin Pearce, a beef farmer from the far north-west of Tasmania with over twenty years’ experience in the military.

The new member for Bass is Bridget Archer, the current George Town Mayor who also has a graduate certificate in International Politics.

In the Senate, with the count yet to be finalised, it appears the result will be two Liberals (Richard Colbeck and Claire Chandler), two Labor (Carol Brown and Catryna Bilyk), one Green (Nick McKim) and Jacqui Lambie making a comeback.

Nationals Senator Steve Martin and Labor’s Lisa Singh were not re-elected and end their terms on June 30.

Overall, Tasmania is now represented by seven Liberals (two House of Representatives, five Senators), six Labor (two and four), two Greens and two independents.

After the strong result in Tasmania, two local Liberal Senators have been promoted to the Ministry.

Senator Richard Colbeck has been appointed as Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians; and Minister for Youth and Sport.

With the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety underway, Minister Colbeck is going to have a lot on his plate and no doubt the local aged care sector will be keen to get into the ear of their new Minister.

Notably for Tasmania, as Sports Minister, Minister Colbeck has pledged to work positively with the AFL and the Hodgman Liberal Government towards the goal of a Tasmanian AFL team, but on the premise (which was strongly supported by voters at the election) that it should be funded by the AFL and corporate sector, not the taxpayer.

Senator Jonathon Duniam has been appointed Assistant Minister for Forestry and Fisheries as well as Assistant Minister for Regional Tourism. Senator Duniam’s portfolios in particular hold strong interest for Tasmania.

Senator Duniam is a former Deputy Chief of Staff to Premier Will Hodgman and his appointment to the Ministry is likely to strengthen cooperation between the two governments.

Other appointments which will be of interest to Tasmania include Senator Bridget McKenzie as Agriculture Minister, Greg Hunt retains Health, Angus Taylor has been reappointed to the Energy portfolio, and Michaelia Cash has been appointed Minister for Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business.

A full list of the Ministry is available here.

Add comment…

Register Now for Font Training