Peter Gutwein set to be new Tasmanian Premier

Share On: Share on Facebook Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Twiiter Share on Linkedin Share on Linkedin

Peter Gutwein is set to become the 46th Premier of Tasmania after Michael Ferguson and Elise Archer this morning withdrew from the leadership contests, leaving Mr Gutwein and Jeremy Rockliff as the only candidates.

First elected to the seat of Bass in 2002, Gutwein has been Tasmania’s Treasurer since 2014 and an integral part of the Tasmanian Liberal Party’s leadership team.

Jeremy Rockliff will continue as Deputy Premier, a role the Braddon member has held since 2014 under outgoing Premier Will Hodgman.

As members of the Liberal Government’s leadership triumvirate for the past six years and with a combined 36 years’ parliamentary experience, Gutwein and Rockliff’s continuation at the helm of Government sends a strong signal of the party’s commitment to ongoing stability.

Add comment…

Register Now for Font Training